Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Overnight Stop - Rating 5/5

The new addition to Willowbeckworks very well.Even higher standards and great food.

Reviewer:Richard C | Sat 31st Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


perfect - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house and location - idyllic, yet 2 mins drive from the M6. perfect stopping off point.

Reviewer:Roy B | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Perfect Upscale Country Retreat - Rating 5/5

Thank you Andrew. Our two nights stay with you was wonderful and all the inn was as pictured. It was delightful, super clean, charming and you were most helpful with any needs we might have had. We did a super tour of Hadrian's Wall with Anna Gray which was incredible. We would return any time to Willowbeck and recommend to anyone your wonderful slice of paradise in Northern England.Ron and Anne Yatteau, Andersonville, TN, USA

Reviewer:Ron and Anne Y | Sun 25th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


The Lodge is a gem! - Rating 5/5

We spent a night at the lodge as our first stop walking Hadrian's Wall. We had asupport car, which made it easy, but the lodge exceeded expecteations for comfort andfacilities. We had a lovely dinner in the evening and adelicious breakfast. Full marks - five star!

Reviewer:Caroline B | Sat 24th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


The BEST place to stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed at Willowbeck Lodge for 3 days after having to change my holiday plans .... and it was the right decision .... it was just perfect. Everyone was so kind and helpful and made my stay a great one. The room was wonderful and like a home away from home, the bed was comfy and the food was absolutley delicious. I'd give more stars if I could. Thank you so much for everything.

Reviewer:Julia Clare W | Thu 15th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Magical stopover - Rating 5/5

A very special place - loved the cosyness of the Beach room - perfect for single occupancy .The food was excellent - a great pity I had to leave at 5.00am and missed breakfast !Richard

Reviewer:Richard S | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Once again a gem - Rating 5/5

We stayed here both on the way to and on the way back from our Scottish holiday. As last year, we were greeted as friends by Andrew, the owner, and made very welcome by the staff. We had dinner on both nights and were very impressed by the standard of the food, then and at breakfast.We will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Andy S | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Superior accommodation and great foodnon site. - Rating 5/5

A super 1-nightstay and delicious evening meal and breakfast. We've arranged to come back!

Reviewer:Caroline B | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, spacious, spotlessly clean accommodation in pretty surroundings. Friendly, helpful staff made our stay most enjoyable.Would definitely go back if in the area again and recommend to family and friends!

Reviewer:Agnes G | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


fantastic Cumbrian hospitality - Rating 5/5

I was so impressed by my welcome, the attention to detail in my room, the hosts friendliness and kindness. The setting was picturesque, the bedroom and bathroom were so clean and spacious with every type of comfort. the host transported me to the nearest village so I could eat as willowbeck restaurant was closed when I stayed, I was so grateful as I was a complete stranger to the area. I had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Reviewer:lynda b | Thu 31st Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Another perfect stay !

Reviewer:Elizabeth R | Thu 24th Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Quality stay - Rating 5/5

The lodge is a really lovely place to stay. Roaring fire and cosey lounge perfect place to relax. Restful warm and welcoming. Beautiful rooms and perfect luxurious spacious bathroom. Excellent breakfast of high standard.Perfect location for us on journey to and from Scotland. Will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Hilary A | Wed 5th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


5 Star Plus hotel - Rating 5/5

The owner Andrew met us on arrival, and was extremely welcoming. Andrew made us a fresh beverage, which was much appreciated. Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean,. We had a lovely view of the beck with the ducks. Breakfast was excellent too. I have already recommended the hotel to friends.

Reviewer:Trevor S | Fri 16th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Willowbeck is a friendly, smart, luxurious place to stay.Our room (the Willow) was very spacious, with a lovely bathroom and french doors overlooking the pool.The bed was very comfortable and the room had everything we needed.Breakfast was lovely, with a great choice of delights on offer.We chose not to eat dinner at Willowbeck, but the small dining room was full of diners and clearly popular.The staff were friendly and efficient, and the ambience was relaxed and enjoyable.We would highly recommend this as an overnight stop or a centre for exploring the lovely local countryside.

Reviewer:Heather R | Sun 11th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Willowbeck B&B - Rating 5/5

Outstanding in every respect.

Reviewer:Graham C | Sat 10th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Room with a view- Rating 5/5

Andrew, Sarah and Hazel looked after us very well. The accommodation was really lovely.Peaceful setting. Warm and comfy. Service beyond the expected and the cats added a homey feeling for us even if unintentionally. Brekky was delicious and plentiful. Loved our stay.

Reviewer:Sylvia G | Fri 9th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Brilliant- a hidden gem - Rating 5/5

Just a one night stop on the way south and we chanced upon Willowbeck by accident - but what luck!This is an amazing family run establishment just about 1 mile off the M6 near Carlisle in the tiny village of Scotby. Its an amazing modern building almost in a Scandinavian style. There are only 4 rooms and it sits overlooking a small private lake with wildfowl swimming merrily awayThe rooms are superb. Every amenity and large comfortable beds and perhaps the biggest hotel bathroom I have seen with a walk in shower that can easily accommodate three people if that was your wish! High quality smellies, lovely bed linenDownstairs is Fini's Restaurant. Warning - it only opens 5 nights a week - but there are other good gastro pubs nearby . Its also open during the day in a cafe / brasserie style with some tables outside when weather allows.The food is brilliant. On the night we were there it was Fish &Fizz with a range of fish dishes washed down with Prosecco. All superbly cooked and a bright buzzy friendly atmosphere with lots of groups of friends and small groups of local ladies . Breakfast was cooked to order and first class with a wide range of options.The staff are marvellous - friendly and and could not do enough to make our stay the best it could be.This is ideally placed to break a long trip North or South and quite near Carlisle and the western end Hadrians Wall. It would also be an excellent base for just a weekend away somewhere different.We will be back!

Reviewer:ALAN M | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Quality hotel - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay here...quality room quality breakfast...relaxing

Reviewer:stuart n | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely Hotel in Very Pretty Setting - Rating 5/5

Willowbeck Lodge is a lovely place to stay. It is a very attractive building in a picturesque setting. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. Andrew, the owner, was very friendly and the breakfast had an excellent choice and was cooked to order. This is a really nice place to stay and we will definitely stay again if we are back in the area.

Reviewer:Suzanne L | Wed 24th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


just perfect - Rating 5/5

very comfortable room, excellent restaurant, very friendly

Reviewer:Berard C | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely accommodation fantastic food very comfortable

Reviewer:Marjorie K | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Convenient, Comfortable and Relaxing - Rating 5/5

Willowbeck Lodge is a short distance from the M6 and easily found. It is set back from an infrequently used road facing a pond surrounded by Willow trees. The accommodation is modern, tastefully decorated and very welcoming. Breakfast and dinner were both delicious. Our hosts and their staff were very friendly ensuring that our stay was very pleasant. This was our second visit after a break of four years and we would certainly not hesitate returning.

Reviewer:Jeremy N | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


What a shame - Rating 5/5

What a shame we were only staying one night .Absolutely everything about Willowbeck was perfect......the room , the hotel , the food and ,most importantly , the feeling of a real home from home .We were on our way to visit friends in the north of Scotland and will certainly be staying at Willowbeck on any future trips .

Reviewer:Elaine & Terry B | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely, lovely, lovely - Rating 5/5

The reason I have headed this review as I have is because there were indeed three lovelies.To start, the hosts were absolutely what one might expect but rarely find. A lovely young couple who give of their time as if you were family.Secondly, the lovely room. Clean, spacious and, most importantly for any hotel, comfortable.Last but by no means least, the food. We ate like king and queen in the evening and again at breakfast, and the food was, yes you get the picture, LOVELY!!Many thanks to Andrew, Sarah and their super team.

Reviewer:Mr Andrew S | Wed 25th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight on way back from Scotland. Beautiful accommodation, and a wonderful meal. Wish we could have stayed longer

Reviewer:jaine P | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


B&B at its best! - Rating 5/5

If you would like to experience modern, and yet warm and cozy, accommodation, try to book couple nights in Willowbeck. I do not want to spoil it for you (other reviews already did, and it is all true), reserve the dinner with them, explore the beautiful surroundings and just leave enough time to sit on the bench by the pondand admire magnificent willow trees.

Reviewer:Olga B | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


A hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

Found Willowbeck Lodge by chance while looking for somewhere to stay while visiting the daughter at University at Carlisle. WOW did we choose a star, Andy and Sarah are fantastic hosts and cannot do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble and Andy’s cooking is second to none. I like to think that I enjoy quality food and my god, I was not dissapointed here, Andy cooks for residents only in the evening and I recommend all to take advantage of this sublime food. The hospitality in the rooms is great, everything you need and more and the setting within the grounds with the small pond and surrounded by willows is relaxing and beautiful, I really cannot recommend a stay here highly enough and cannot wait to revisit.

Reviewer:Mr Tony D | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Beautiful - Rating 5/5

Beautiful accomodation in a beautiful setting. Hosts could not be more attentive and will help wherever they can. Few rooms which ensures peaceful stay. Would deffo go again.

Reviewer:Samantha M | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming hosts. Comfortable and lovely location.Food was very goodin the evening and at breakfast.

Reviewer:Anne S | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


An idyllic place - Rating 5/5

What an idyllic place,:efficient, family-run, tranquil and friendly.

Reviewer:Elizabeth R | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Very convenient location- Rating 4/5

Nice pleasant place. Unfortunately we stayed on a Monday when the local (very good)Indian was closed. Willowbeck’s own restaurant in not open on a Monday either. The very helpful owner recommended a pub in the next village which was fine and he cooked us a nice breakfast the following morning. It’s clean and comfortable with a pretty garden

Reviewer:Catherine T | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


From a young mature couple - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay at Willowbeck Lodge. Our room was comfortable .Very lovely décor. Andrew is fun to talk to and a wonderful host.

Reviewer:Laura F | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent short stay - Rating 5/5

Easy to find off the M6, lovely peaceful setting. Rooms beautifully equipped, large and airy. Andrew andSarah were excellent hosts. Fabulous breakfasts and a very good evening meal using local produce. We stayed en-route to and from the North of Scotland and it was a perfect place to start and finish a memorable trip . CL

Reviewer:christine l | Fri 4th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyex our stay here, quiet place, lovely clean room, comfy bed, all you could wish for. The hosts trusted us to help our self to drinks, which just show how ni e they were. Finallya nice breakfast

Reviewer:Donato N | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic Place! - Rating 5/5

Everything about this place is top notch. Location, rooms, food and a warm welcome. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Steve R | Tue 3rd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Beautiful place- Rating 5/5

Lovely food and a magnificently furnished property,

Reviewer:Peter G | Fri 9th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

I booked this B&B as I was stranded in Carlisle due to snow.I definitely picked the right place to stay.Andrew was the perfect host and chef.He and his family went above and beyond expectations. I would definitely recommend this small B&B and would return should I ever be in the area again.

Reviewer:Alison F | Sun 4th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Willowbeck Lodge - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fabulous....hospitality second to none...would definitely return.

Reviewer:Adam B | Tue 26th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Nice place - Rating 5/5

Unfortunately a short stay we were made very welcomeThe willow room was perfect and the breakfast greatWould recommend and use again

Reviewer:Mr. Duncan M | Mon 25th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Faultless. - Rating 5/5

Wonderful hospitality , stunning room ,and really great food , nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, Will definitely return .

Response

Thank you DavidHope to see you again sometime

Reviewer:Mr. DavidN | Tue 19th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Fabulous - much more than a B&B - Rating 5/5

Beautiful setting very close to the M6 but very peaceful.The house is lovely and Liz and John are the friendliest hosts you could wish for.If you get the chance to have dinner do take it.The cooking is delicious!!Rooms (we stayed in Ash) have everything you need, are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated.Bed was very comfortable indeed too!There was a great choice for breakfast and again everything was fresh and delicious.We would certainly recommend Willowbeck and would love to go back.It was more like a boutique hotel than a B&B but with the extra of such lovely hosts.

Response

Thank you Simon and Ruth.Please come again sometime

Reviewer:Mr. Simon L | Mon 18th May 2015 | 4 years ago


A welcoming retreat - Rating 5/5

A lovely house to stay in, our only criticism - there was no mention of the difficulty that nothing was said that whilstextremely good facilities for disabled down stairs, there was nothing to help going upstairs.Room on the left hand side of the stair case for a chair lift.

Response

Thank you for staying with us. If only we had had this conversation before you came to stay. Did you mention Patricia’s disability when you booked? I’ve re read your emails ( five email exchanges ) but there was no reference to Patricia having difficulty with stairs. I would have explained the layout before you came. I really had no idea until you arrived.I am so sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We enjoyed your visit and we did our best to make sure you were comfortable in every way.It would have been much better to talk about your criticism face to face. We didn’t try to deceive you. We just didn’t know . We could have tried to compensate in some way for your disappointment.

Reviewer:John H | Sun 3rd May 2015 | 4 years ago


Warm and Welcoming - Rating 5/5

From the moment we booked we felt we were well cared for and looked after. Before arriving Liz emailed us to see if we needed her to book dinner reservations for us, or if she could design a menu for us to have at the guest house. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Liz and taken to our room. The room was beautiful and had a lovely view over the lake and trees. The room was an excellent size with a very comfortable, large bed, plenty of room to sit and relax and had a well equipped bathroom with shower cubicle and corner bath.We decided to eat out so Liz booked the meal and her husband, John drove us to it. Such a lovely gesture.In the morning there was a good choice of breakfasts which were cooked to perfection.The location is also super. Despite only being a mile or so from the junction with the M6 the area the house is in is lovely and peaceful. It is only a couple of miles from Carlisle and close to the attractions along Hadrian's Wall. The scenery along the Hadrian's Wall route is breathtaking.Overall we loved our stay here and would thoroughly recommend. We can't wait to go again.

Reviewer:Claire H | Mon 27th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Willowbeck Lodge - the perfect escape! - Rating 5/5

Liz and John are fantastic hosts. The facilities are exceptional in every respect. A fantastic stay and plan to return again.

Response

Thank you so much. It was a great booking for us. Did you get caught in the snow?? I couldn\'t believe it. Hazel phoned to tell me she was right AGAIN !!!

Reviewer:Sarah M | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Anniversary night away - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay and wonderful food. The hosts were lovely and welcoming. Room was beautiful and we had the best nights sleep.We would definitely stay at this Luxury guesthouse again and recommend to our freinds and families. Very memorable indeed.

Response

Thank you Ian and Lisa. It was lovely to meet you. Thank you for choosing the lodge to celebrate your anniversary

Reviewer:Ian T | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Easy to unwind - Rating 5/5

We had traveled a long way to attend a funeral, by the time we arrived at Willow Beck Lodge we were emotionally and physically drained, however we were warmly welcomed, nothing was to much trouble for John and Liz. The accommodation was spotless, the evening meal was excellent as was our breakfast. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Claire L | Mon 6th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Another fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Great hosts,very good food, looking forward to our next stay.

Response

Thanks Both !!Lovely to see you again. Always enjoy your company. Look forward to your next visit.All the bestLiz sand John

Reviewer:Mr. Colin N | Mon 30th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


A perfect home from home- Rating 5/5

There was nothing to fault at Willowbeck Lodge. It started with the warm welcome from both John and Liz. The Lodge is set in lovely grounds in a well placed village. Our room and ensuite were both spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable. We dined at the Lodge and our three course meal was delicious as was our hearty well cooked breakfast. We had some lovely chats with John and Liz. Our only two regrets - we stayed only one night and we wished we had discovered Willowbeck Lodge before now. John and Liz run a perfect place and we hope to return again soon to once again experience their wonderful hospitality.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet L | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Pleasure - Rating 5/5

As always enjoyed our stay and have just booked another visit. Don

Reviewer:Mr. Donald T | Wed 11th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


One of the BEST we have ever stayed in ! - Rating 5/5

Perfect, just perfect !

Reviewer:Mr. Ash S | Mon 2nd Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


The Willowbeck Lodge - Rating 5/5

First class Lodge accommodation. Lovely welcome by Elizabeth and John the owners. Accommodation is stylish and exceptional quality. Every detail has been very well thought out for your comfort - 10 out of 10.

Reviewer:John L | Sun 8th Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


Spoilt Rotten! - Rating 5/5

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Willowbeck. Wow! What made our stay so wonderful was Liz and John. We were totally spoilt from the moment we checked in. Yes the accommodation is first class but its Liz and John that make it so special. Nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for dinner both nights as the food was so good. We will definitely return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa H | Wed 28th Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


Another great stay! - Rating 5/5

A beautiful property resulting in a great nights sleep.It really is home from home.The breakfast was delicious!

Reviewer:Mrs. Kate C | Fri 9th Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


Absolute Bliss! - Rating 5/5

we had an amazing stay at Willowbeck Lodge, wonderful food, staff, easy to access from A66, the whole atmosphere in this great hotel is so relaxing, fantastic rooms and bathrooms and comfortable beds.Can't wait to go back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean R | Sat 22nd Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Retired Couple - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful hotel. Very intimate, room was fantastic and food to die for! Very welcoming and friendly couple run the establishment. Highly recommended will stay again when going North of the border.

Reviewer:Mr. James S | Mon 1st Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


home from home - Rating 5/5

Excellent - from arrival to departure.Very good food.Excellent staff with a very good chef, the fillet steaks were out of this world!!! &the breakfast beat me.Will definitely be back

Reviewer:Ms. Nicky S | Sat 23rd Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely relaxing surroundings, beautiful comfortable bedrooms, delicious food and very welcoming hosts.Will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne S | Tue 29th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Beautiful and friendly place.- Rating 5/5

We only stayed one night but wish our stay was much longer, it's such a beautiful place to stay and Liz and her Husband were the perfect Hosts. My wife and I will be definitely staying again in the very near future.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael R | Mon 7th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

A brief overnight stay turned into a delight:thank you for your warm welcome, a comfortable room and a delicious breakfast.Do please add details about your new Kitchen to your website - the food looked great. As for a local walk - we discovered the path alongside the River Eden at Wetheral, taking in magnificent veteran trees, St Constantine's Cave and the Corby Castle Italianate Cascade. A real treat.I hope it won't be too long before we return for a longer stay.

Reviewer:Ms. Catherine L | Wed 2nd Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Happy Anniversary - Rating 5/5

We arrived at the Lodge to find we had left our overnight bag with all clothes, toiletries etc for the stay inthe cottage in which we had been staying in Dumfries and Galloway. Without any hesitation John offered to go and get it for us so that we could relax on our wedding anniversary. This was the tone of the whole stay-nothing was too much trouble for him and Liz.The Lodge is modern and smart, very comfortable and welcoming.Our room was large, beautifully furnished and equipped and overlooked the garden and pond. The bathroom was sparkling with bath and walk-in shower and lots of toiletries.We had a lovely tea in the bistro downstairs and our evening meal was beautifully cooked and served in the quiet dining room.Breakfast was to the same high standard with lots of choice from the buffet and freshly cooked full English.We would recommend the Lodge to anyone-all ages would me comfortable there.Thanks a lot John and Liz for helping us celebrate our wedding anniversary in such delightful surroundings.

Reviewer:Mr. Ray T | Wed 25th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Peaceful Perfection!- Rating 5/5

We have just spent an idyllic 3 nights at Willowbeck Lodge, and will definitely return again. From the first moment we arrived until our final goodbye our every need and requirement was catered for. Liz and John were the perfect hosts and could not have been more friendly and obliging. We stayed in the Oak room, which is larger than an average B&B bedroom, with a beautiful ensuite bathroom complete with corner bath and separate shower cubicle, and copious amounts of hot water! The bed was king size and extremely comfortable.The room was spotlessly clean and the towels and bedding were beautifully fresh and white. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, bottled water, all replenished daily. Good sized television, and excellent wifi connection! Breakfast was amazing, something for everyone and with that special little touch that turns the ordinary into the extraordinary! The evening meal we had was worthy of a top class restaurant, really tasty food, good portion sizes and excellently presented. Lovely choice of wines, beers and spirits! We have thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay and will most certainly recommend Willowbeck Lodge to our friends and family. Thank you so much Liz and John, for everything! xxxx

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet M | Thu 22nd May 2014 | 5 years ago


Outstanding property - Rating 5/5

Greeted upon arrival by our host and escorted to our room. Relaxed on the squashy sofas with a pre dinner drink reading the papers! Freshly cooked dinner. Very comfortable stay. Would highly recommend Willowbeck Lodge - excellent!

Response

Thank you for your comments.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.I hope the sun shines for you in the Scottish isles .all the bestLiz and John

Reviewer:Mrs. Carole P | Mon 5th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely, welcoming and friendly hosts;beautiful clean accommodation. Fabulous meal with steak to die for. Will be back next year.xx

Reviewer:Mr. Graham M | Mon 14th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


still manages to keep very high standards - Rating 5/5

Just returned from another excellent stay. The building changes have not detracted from the very pleasent layout. Glad to see the large sofas have been retained. Just booked another stay in aug.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin N | Tue 1st Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Five Star Plus - Rating 5/5

Due to circumstances we arrived late and left quite early. However we were at Willowbrook long enough to witness the amazing attention to detail. This combined with a lovely warm welcome and a super breakfast left us feeling like we had stayed the whole weekend.

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart K | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Superb- Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome and spacious room. Really comfortable huge bed. Big bathroom with excellent walk in shower.Evening meal was excellent - breakfast one of the best I've ever had - still thinking about the bacon!!Would recommend this place and will stay again ourselves.Excellent value for money.

Response

Thanks Jackie. Good to meet you both.How are your knees?All the bestLiz and John

Reviewer:Mrs. Jackie A | Tue 8th Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


En route - Rating 5/5

Delightful welcome, excellent,spacious well equipped accommodation. Super breakfast. Better than many 5 star hotels I've stayed in. Only criticism, beds and chairs in room too soft.

Response

Thanks for your comments. We are grateful when guests give us constructive criticism. It means we can improve our service.You'll be happy to know we have replaced the mattress in the Willow room ( the room you occupied).We'd be delighted if you choose to stay at Willowbeck Lodge another time in the future.kind regardsLiz McGrillis

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel P | Sat 21st Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent stop near carlisle- Rating 5/5

We chose Willowbeck Lodge as a convenient break on our journey home from Scotland. We were made to feel very welcome and it exceeded our expectations.Would definitely recommend and hope to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. George T | Sat 21st Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Eva's cottage. Liz made us feel so welcome. The breakfasts and accommodation were excellent. We would certainly pay a return to Willowbeck next time we are in the area

Response

Hello ValerieThank you for taking time to write a review. We enjoyed meeting you.Thank you for your comments.I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay.Hope to see to again sometime.All the bestLiz and John

Reviewer:Mrs. Valerie F | Thu 19th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


A Hidden Jewel! - Rating 5/5

This was our 4th stay here and once agaaindid not dissapoint. A very warm welcome was followed by a fine dining meal served with an excellent Merlot.The room was superbly prepared and the bed wonderfully comfortable.Breakfast was substantial and beautifully prepared and cooked. This is a special established which should not be missed.Thank you for another wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Mr. David C | Mon 16th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Visitors from Connecticut - Rating 5/5

We stayed two nights and enjoyed it thoroughly.The apartment had every amenity and the setting was idyllic.The breakfasts were ideal and the hosts very helpful and even did some laundry for us!We did not try the dinner offerings (although they sounded great) but got recommendations for dining in Carlisle.We used the lodge as a base for exploring Hadrian's Wall and the Lady of the North.If we had more time we would have explored the lake district as well.This was our best lodging experience during our two week trip to northern England and Scotland.

Response

Thank you very much for you comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.All the bestLiz and John

Reviewer:Mr. Bruce W | Sat 14th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Just returned from our 2nd stay this year with John &Liz. Very warm welcome and fantastic hospitality as always. See you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin N | Mon 9th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Simply Wonderful Willowbeck Lodge - Rating 5/5

This is a fantastic place to stay. Liz and John are amazingly hospitable and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms and amenities are top class, as is the breakfast, and it's one of the most comfortable places we've ever stayed, certainly well worth a 5-star rating. We highly recommend Willowbeck Lodge and hope we can get back for a visit some time in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. DavidB | Mon 2nd Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Surprise - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful setting with excellent accommodation and service. Everything was of a superb standard . Thank you for the experience.

Reviewer:Mrs. Norma G | Mon 2nd Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A second visitproved just as good as our first visit. Once again the unique concept and beautiful surroundings never fails to please. Excellent cuisine of an exceptionally high standard and a very friendly, warm welcome from the owners who welcomed us 'home'. Fabulous.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lindsay B | Wed 28th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


WILLOWBECK LODGE - Rating 5/5

FROM THE TIME WE ARRIVED TO THE TIME WE LEFT LIZ AND JOHN MADE US FEEL VERY WELCOME WE HAD THE OAK ROOM IT WAS A1 THE BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE THE BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD QUALITY THE EVENING MEAL WAS ALSO VERY GOOD WE WILL BE GOING BACK SOON LOVED IT 10 OUT OF 10 THANKS LIZ AND JOHN SEE YOU SOON PAUL HARDING

Reviewer:Mr. Paul H | Wed 14th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


A real treat - Rating 5/5

As part of our anniversary break, this was a couple's delight. We opted for an evening meal during the first of our 2 evenings and it was superb. John and Liz are excellent hosts, helpful in every way. Extra care was taken for every detail in furnishings and amenities. Breakfast was also 5 star. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Luther M | Tue 6th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Temendous - Rating 5/5

This was our first stay Willowbeck Lodge and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute.A wonderfully warm welcome;immaculate room and facilities;and the utterly delicious breakfast sent us on our way looking forward to a chance to return.

Response

Thanks Tim. We had the hotel inspector in last night. I hope he is as enthusiastic as you. All the best to you bothHope to see you again sometimeLiz and John

Reviewer:Mr. Tim I | Wed 31st Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


A luxurious rest - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Willowbeck on our way back from the Isle of Skye, so arrived feeling tired and car-weary.Willowbeck weaved its magic immediately. We were made very welcome by Liz and John and soon felt refreshed and pampered.The facilities are wonderful and every effort is made to provide luxurious comfort.And the food is excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pauline S | Tue 18th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Accomodation was good, food greatand the location was relaxing. The owners were friendly without being intrusive. I would recommend to anyone

Reviewer:Mr. Tim G | Sun 9th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Even nicer than it looks on the web - Rating 5/5

Despite arriving late and having to leave early, we were vey warmly welcomed and could only have enjoyed our stay more if we'd had more time to spend at Willowbeck. It's really, truly special!!

Reviewer:Mr. Lilian H | Sun 5th May 2013 | 6 years ago


Great hosts - Rating 5/5

We booked for one night, a Sunday, and our reservation was upgraded, along with a complimentary bottle of wine,as our hosts were unable to greet us in person on arrival. This was no problem as far as we were concerned and we were very impressed with their consideration.The room was fabulous and the breakfast one of the best we have eexperienced.We can enthusiastically recommend the hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline S | Sat 27th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


just lovely - Rating 5/5

This little hotel was just as delightful as the photographs showed.We had a beautiful room with everyconvenience and lovely views over the gardens.~The bathroom was spectacular as were the breakfasts.We were thoroughly spoilt and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janice S | Mon 15th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere, accomodation first class. All food was excelent. Special touches made the stay very pleasurable. Highly recommended, will visit again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Geraldine N | Wed 3rd Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Perfect. - Rating 5/5

Quiet location,Great Room (Thanks for the up-grade) Food Fantastic, will call again when back in your area. Kind regards Al

Reviewer:Mr. AlanP | Mon 19th Nov 2012 | 7 years ago


5
Very Good

85 reviews

5
99%
4
1%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%